Get Out Of Bed, Lazy Bones!

alarmclocksnooze-1
Watch the gloomy fetters of the night,
How they slowly roll out for you
The moon and stars have taken to flight,
And darkness has made way for the light
Yet you hang up a haunch in deep snooze,
Spinning in blurred faith and anxious drools

Cock-a-doodle-doo, the early cock cries,
Tick-tock, tick-tock, the old clock fiercely warns–
Of the sudden arrival of yet another radiant light
Tweet-tweet, out of their nests, the chirping birds fly
From trees to land in search of daily g(r)ains
Yet you toss and turn in loath of the new dawn!

Get out of bed, you lazy one!–
Who idly lay in bed waiting to be kissed by the sun
Get out of bed you lazy bones!
Don’t you hear the shuttling of gates and the blaring of horns?
Stale is the night, immaculate the grandeur of the new dawn
Rise up! Carpe diem! –It’s another race to run!

QOTW: “I would have it inscribed on the curtains of your bed and the walls of your chamber: “If you do not rise early, you can make progress in nothing”– William Pitt Chatham

Written By:  ‘Nonye J. Chidolue (@NonyeWrites)

https://www.facebook.com/peregrinereads

11 thoughts on “Get Out Of Bed, Lazy Bones!

  1. Nonye is shading me this morning. I read this on my bed and I am still on my bed. Its monday morning , so what? Lol.
    I guess its the deep message this poem has to offer & not the literal meaning. Anyway going back to sleep. I really don’t have anything to do today. Thanks Nonye this was an alarm reminder for me. Probably I will read it tomorrow too when I definitely need to get up from my bed.

    Liked by 1 person

Your views are warmly welcome! :)

