Relationships: Your Type, My Type, Our Types!

type

Credit: Deviantart.com

Editor’s Note:

“He’s not my type of Guy/Girl”. We get to hear that a lot among peers when relationship topics creep up. We all have different criteria or perceptions of what we expect from the opposite sex of which a defect in such criteria would mean that they are incompatible with us or as the saying goes – Just not my type! When we look closely, we realize that everyone wants perfection in their partners or at least something next to perfection. You know –That guy with the hot bod, the sexy girl with the endowed body, the rich smart guy and the list goes on and on….but then if all of the guys and girls with these prioritized criteria are often sought for, what happens to the others? Enjoy this short but enlightening piece by Okon Bassey that sheds more light on the issue of relationship types…

We all must have at some point said or heard someone else say “you are not my type”. But what does that really mean? Some months ago I thought I had it figured out, I just thought it simply meant that the person wasn’t “your type”,that is, the kind of person you do not just see yourself with but I’ve had some time to rethink my position. Most times in relationships, we find out that when we are actually with those we think are “our types” it doesn’t work but when the reverse is the case it does.

So I figured: “your type” is simply the kind of person you can make it work with, this person most times doesn’t fit the “perfect picture” we have in our heads. You might feel that “your type” is that tall,dark and handsome guy that earns at least six figures or that cute independent chick with curves in all the right places but the person you end up with is the exact opposite or has only a few of things you are looking for in a partner. Frankly, the person that ends up being “your type” would not fit into that “Mr or Miss Perfect Picture” you have in your head, some factors might just be missing but in the end you would find out that they are perfect for you exactly the way they are.

In other words, “your type” is whoever you find yourself happy with in the end, the person that you are most compatible with. I haven’t found “my type” yet but I know I will and I know that those of you who haven’t would also find “your types” soon enough.

“When you stop expecting people to be perfect, you can like them for who they are.”
―Donald Miller 

Written By:  Okon Bassey 

https://www.facebook.com/peregrinereads

8 thoughts on “Relationships: Your Type, My Type, Our Types!

  1. Bassey Okon have hit d Nail on d Head! This write-up have just voiced my opinion on dis…u see I’m not left out in d “my type thing, tho my own issue is I adore tall guys, not too ugly (doesn’t have to b too handsome, at least I won’t have to look over my shoulder to check whether he’s cheating on me). And to think that most guys are looking for an hour glass shape in a lady have made them miss it many times, (which made me wonder if I’m gonna marry since me no get Hour glass shape, na only d beautiful face God dash me I get *widegrin). So now Ladies also tend to miss it when they’re always looking for a TDH!(Wetin go come hapen to all d short guys around naa?! *innocent face). We all tend to miss out on our happiness coz we’re mostly looking on d outward features. Even Samuel was told not to take Eliab’s handsome face for being God’s chosen (1st Sam 16:6-7) I just hope we will all learn frm failed relationship with d “my types” and settle for our God’s chosen partner (may not always b what we av in mind tho’. But Abeg, God, no give me short guy o, u no say me sef too short naa *grinningfrmeartoear). Thanks Nonye, for sharing dis wonderful piece!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hahaha! Always fun reading your interesting opinions. Well you’re right. I guess we’re all guilty of the “type factor” forgetting that they may not fit our expectations but they are the ones who could truly make us happy. Since we’re being honest about the types here, I love me some guy that can make me laugh! Lol I mean, (for starters o) hehe

      Like

    • Laughing! Yes dearest Nonye u r right. And since we’re still on d subject, I love me a man dat can make me laugh too and I love a good, no make that a great kisser! And I can’t stand dirty men, definitely not #Mytype atall!!! I love to kiss, now if d odor coming from ur mouth is d twin brother to one of Lasgidi’s numerous canals, hw then will I b able to get a good kiss?! *almostintearsface. If we’re not to look at d heigh, stature, color, ethnic, tribe, etc, etc. Must we now go for dirty guys? Mbanu! Not possible…so one way or the other, there will alway be a #MytypeFactor, but it must b in a healthy way…

      Like

      • I’m sure not all of us can stand dirty habit…or a guy that takes one for granted, or d douchbag type…#MyTypeFactor will always be and issue, may not necessarily b abt outward appearance…

        Like

  2. Am really impressed by your write up it has helped me understand the reasons why I can’t stand some guys and why I feel comfortable around some “when you stop expecting people to be perfect, you like them for who they are” this quote also helps us to love ourselves for who we are and know that the right person will come at the right time

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lol!, I loved the fact that this article was very straightforward.
    I may not have the perfect picture of “my type” but there are so many things I can’t tolerate; arrogance, cockiness, dirtiness and pride….Odiegwu

    Liked by 1 person

Your views are warmly welcome! :)

