Today…

writee

Today I feel the need to write
Castrate my thoughts and words
Today I feel the Intensity of lots
As walking in heels on bumpy slots
Knees jerking upon tight buckled knots
Plying a lonely road miles from the North
A vicarious expedition for hopeless ones
Words Inked from the heart, travelling like a kite
Gracing grubby walls of black and white

Today I feel the need to Read
Embrace every word and to their meanings heed
Today I desire to take a lead
Champion my present and my past, free
From doubts and disillusioned drills
Squeezing out the colours of my dreams
I live to judge every word decorous and prim
Subliminally or dangerously extreme
Serves yet for tomorrow a foundation from obsolete bricks

Today I feel the need to think
Awaken my mind and to my life, breathe
Today I desire to take a sip
From a goblet of acrid substances
In its unsweetened and merciless sting
I remain a prisoner in the city of my thoughts
A true perception of life it may bring
That to hungry souls every bitter thing is sweet
And to the fool, every sweet thing is a tool!

writee
“Today is yours to shape. Create a masterpiece!”

―Steve Maraboli 

Written By: ‘Nonye J. Chidolue (@NonyeWrites)

https://www.facebook.com/peregrinereads

2 thoughts on “Today…

  1. this is good!
    good books makes for introspection and that births change…but sometimes we can be caged in by our thoughts and need to break free…and therein comes the savior- the pen! we write and let it all out and hopefully we feel better…

    Liked by 1 person

Your views are warmly welcome! :)

